10 Questions About…


Tuesday Night – Radio Macbeth by Ann Treacy
October 4, 2007, 7:51 pm
Filed under: Dublin

On Tuesday Patrick and I went to see Radio Macbeth – it’s part of the Dublin Theatre Festival. I liked it. It’s a quirky show. The dialogue is all Macbeth – but the actors are rehearsing for a radio play – so the actions do not necessarily follow the play.

The actions told another story, which I found interesting. I liked the way they were able to accomplish the interspersed mini dramas into Macbeth. Patrick didn’t like it as much. He didn’t think they went far enough – but I enjoyed the times that it really worked and enjoyed the times when you were back listening to Shakespeare.

That being said – I think this would be a difficult show if you didn’t know Macbeth. I think it would be difficult to follow that main theme if you really had to concentrate on the speech to follow the nuances of the plot. Or I guess you could do that but you might miss the unrelated action.

The other thing that I always like – the play was 90 minutes long. That’s a perfect length.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

