10 Questions About…


Wednesday Night – I, Keano by Ann Treacy
January 31, 2008, 2:38 pm
Filed under: Dublin

Wednesday night I met my friend Sheila in own. First we had a nice Indian meal – then we decided to try to get tickets to iKeano. We didn’t realize it but it had been sold out for quite a while.

So we back to the pub to retrench and meet up with Patrick. We decided to try to scalp tickets and were successful. Well, we got two tickets – we were able to score another seat for Patrick who met us after the first half – but it was just me and Sheila for the first half.

I, Keano is a part Roman epic, part musical and entirely focused on the Irish World Cup team of 2002. Here’s a brief description of I, Keano from RTE:

The decision by McCarthy to send Roy Keane home from the 2002 World Cup divided a nation. Those, with only a passing interest in the beautiful game, soon become embroiled in much heated debate as to who was right and wrong. Coming shortly after a mundane General Election campaign, what was to become known as the ‘Saipan affair’ enlivened those rain-lashed days at the end of May 2002.

About 90 percent of the show went right by me – since as most readers will know I have absolutely no interest sports – Irish or American. The part I did get was funny. We were in the upper circle at the Olympia. I did learn that I would never pay big money to sit there again – since you can’t really see the whole stage – but this was a good show to learn that.

After the show we went for a drink at Mulligan’s on Poolbeg Street – a pub I had completely forgotten about. It is still a super nice pub!
mulligan’s

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] Wednesday Night – I, Keano […]

Pingback by Patrick’s Birthday « 10 Questions About…




Leave a Reply

