10 Questions About…


Hillary Clinton in Hibbing by Ann Treacy
October 25, 2008, 9:48 pm
Filed under: Minnesota

I don’t usually blog about work here – but work was kind of interesting this week. On Monday night I headed to Brainerd to talk to the Minnesota Resort and Campground Association. My friend Jan and I talked about Web 2.0 stuff for tourism. On Tues I met up with my friend Bill to do some work with the Blandin Foundation in Grand Rapids.

But the fun (and noteworthy) part came Tuesday night. We heard that Hillary Clinton would be in Hibbing – so we headed up there. It’s not too far from Grand Rapids. I had never been to a rally like this before. It was held in the hockey arena and the place was jammed. We saw the line to get in and were worried we wouldn’t get in.

But we got it as did 5,000 or so other people. The place was filled but it wasn’t overly crowded. Everyone was friendly and I think every Democratic politician past or present within a 200 mile radius was up on stage. The strangest thing was a guy with a cowboy hat with McCain stickers in the middle of the room. He didn’t say anything and I think he eventually took of his hat – but it was strange to see him.

Also the security was pretty light. After the RNC demonstrations I pretty much expect a full militia at any public event. There were a few guards but that was it.

I taped most of Hillary’s speech.

See Amy Klobuchar: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iQZlIFafQOo

Jim Oberstar: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-3LTxokeqTM (I think)

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I saw her earlier that day at the U of M for an Al Franken rally. It was interesting to hear how she tailored her speeches to the audiences. I think is she an intelligential and classy woman.

Comment by Karen

I was impressed too. She must have been so tired and still to make the connection to the audience was great.

Comment by Ann Treacy

[…] I bet they could make the connection. I was at a rally in Hibbing in October. Oberstar was one of the speakers (with Hillary Clinton, Senator Klobuchar and others). He talked […]

Pingback by New Deal should include Broadband « Blandin on Broadband




Leave a Reply

