10 Questions About…


Twin Cities Women’s Choir Concert by Ann Treacy
February 7, 2011, 2:18 pm
Filed under: St Paul

Over the weekend, I went with my mom to see Celtic Fire, a concert of the Twin Cities Women’s Choir, the HiBs and various other Irish musicians. I found out about the concert because I was asked to do a story about it for the Twin Cities Daily Planet. In fact I got a little sneak preview of the concert for the article

They played a wide range of songs – from Danny Boy to something written by our friend Jode Dowling. I’m a little spoiled with the Irish music, as I knew most of the musicians and I’ve seen them many times before. But it was fun to see them in a new setting and to see them play in front of an audience that isn’t accustomed to the bodhran or uilleann pipes.

It was fun to see the choir too, which is something new for me. There were about 100 singers. They all sing for the love of it, they aren’t paid for their singing with the group. It was fun to see the families and friends in the audience play and to see every musicians personal style from the outfit she wore to the way she sang. Some kind of bobbed their heads, some were very still but they all seemed to enjoy themselves.

The concert was at the Central Presbyterian Church. I wrote about that church before – it was the place we took refuge during the RNC protests. It’s kind of a neat place.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

