10 Questions About…


Fish feet treatment by Ann Treacy
July 16, 2011, 9:02 pm
Filed under: Dublin

Last weekend we had a regular downtown Dublin day. We didn’t have any big plans – mostly the girls wanted to do the things they miss when we are home. By that I mean they wanted to eat chocolate crepes at the Farmer’s Market in Meeting House Square. Sadly they are working on the Square! Its’ going to be cool when it’s done; they are building umbrellas to make the Square better in all sorts of weather. But for now it’s just under construction. The girls were heartbroken – until we started walking around and we learned that the usual market booths were just dispersed around the area.

Eventually we found the crepes and all was well with the world. In fact we tried lots of different food while we were there. Then we went to George’s Market, which is a more permanent market – part flea market, part super organic type stuff.
Lily had specifically requested this stop. When we were there we saw that they had fish pedicures.

I had heard about these fish before – essentially you stick your feet into fish tanks and the fish nibble at your feet. The fish are Garra Rufa. Here’s the description from their web site:

The treatment itself even has a name – “ichthyotherapy” – which is defined as “ the use of fish to treat illness, e.g. certain members of the family Cyprinidae such as Garra rufa and Cyprinion macrostomum living in hot springs near Sivas, Turkey nibble at skin lesions and are said to cure psoriasis. Probably exposure to UV light and to selenium in the water is aided by removal of dead skin”.

So we decided to go for it – the girls and I had the treatment for about 15 minutes. It’s very ewkie. It doesn’t hurt. It kind of tickles. I could just about take it for a few minutes and then I’d be overwhelmed by the creepiness of paying to have fish bite your toes.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

“Ewkie” is rigbt!!

Comment by Lori Lippert

Our friend is trying it tomorrow. For about 2 seconds I wondered if I’d try again. Then I remembered the Ferris Wheel. I was glad I did it, but ewkie is really only good the first time!

Comment by Ann Treacy

I would love the fish pedicure – love having my feet tickled – ok, TMI, but it used to put me to sleep when I was a baby.

Comment by cheskabrit




Leave a Reply

