10 Questions About…


TED Global: First night by Ann Treacy
July 13, 2012, 3:10 pm
Filed under: Edinburgh

I can’t believe I didn’t write about our fancy first night party for TED. It was held at the top of the Edinburgh Castle. The weather was perfect! The drinks were free. Folks walked around with wonderful appetizers. Everyone was friendly.

There are people who serve as hosts. I think they’ve probably just attended a billion previous TEDs – but they are super friendly and when you’re new to the event and you’ve come alone, it really is nice to have the super friendly people start conversation. And of course this was just a couple of hours after my presentation so many kind people came up to say hello to me based on what little they had learned about me. So that was super nice too.

I took some pictures from the castle – but admittedly they don’t look nearly as good as the real thing. But while I was taking pictures I met someone from Catalonia. (Patrick and I taught English in Catalonia before we were married.) You don’t meet a lot of people from that area. He was very impressed that I had lived in Mollerusa- well if not impressed at least surprised. I have to say that at an event like this it is nice to have done a little traveling.

Just as the castle party was ending I found myself talking to some great people – and we trekked to a nearby pub. For better or for worse this began a happy habit throughout the conference. I’m including various pictures from various nights of me, Cath, Preston and Liang. And I must thank them for helping me ring in my birthday after midnight on that firs night of TED!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

