10 Questions About…


Street art, museum art , aerial performers, a Pink Door and El Corazon: Day 6 in Seattle/Portland by Ann Treacy
March 10, 2024, 4:56 pm
Filed under: Washington

Lily had a relaxing morning while I took a walk, one of my favorite things! I check out a lot of street art, including the Giant Red Popsicle by Catherine Mayer. I visited the fish market and the Spheres. The weather was crisp, very windy and a low key misty drizzle that made me miss Ireland. (And made my hair look good all day!)

Then I met up with Lily. We had a fun pasta lunch at Pike Place and then checked out the Seattle Art Museum. The staff there were so kind. They let me in with my reciprocal MiA membership even though I had no proof. Holding my Walker card may have helped lend authenticity to my claim. Either way, so nice. I was drawn to some of the artists I know from the Walker and MiA at home such as Wendy Red Star and Kenhinde Wiley. I really enjoyed the art by Calder (especially his little wire sculptures) and Jaune Quick-to-See Smith. I also enjoyed the multimedia Virtual Chimeric Space by Sara Woolfalk. There was also a work by called Take a Knee and Scream, where folks are invited to enter the space and … you guessed it – scream.

We had an amazing dinner at the Pink Door. We got lucky being on the walk-up list and scored ourselves the best table in the place because we weren’t near anyone and we were in the perfect place to watch the aerial performer. She was fantastic and performed for about 10 minutes each half hour. The perfect amount. And the food was amazing. I had braised beer risotto and tuna crudo. Lily had arancini and squid ink seafood pasta and we shared a lot. Best meal of the trip … so far.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment