10 Questions About…


Powell Books, Pho and sad goodbyes: last day in Portland by Ann Treacy
March 12, 2024, 6:18 pm
Filed under: Oregon

On my last day, we finally got to Powell Books, apparently the world’s largest independent bookstore. I’ve worked in many libraries, and I have to say, none were as large as Powell Books. It’s busy and well organized. It seems like they have a good calendar of events, which always helps. My favorite memory was overhearing a young girl say to her mom, “I found a book on Disney World. (pause) It has everything. (pause) I really like Disney World. (pause) I mean really … I’d like to go there … someday.”

Spent the last day then reflecting on the trip. We had a great time. Lily compared Portland to “New Orlean’s tired uncle, who usually just has two beers now.” It is a place where people seem to live easy. People drive slowly, start conversations and seem nice. I spent a lot of time near and in downtown so I saw a lot of people living in tents. That’s always hard but only because it’s hard to see someone on a rough day. The weather is very Irish, which I had been told before. Lots of misty-rain, which just makes my hair look better.

There feels like a DIY undercurrent in the community. As Lily noted, it’s like third generation fisher families move into town but they still know how to fix a boat or scale a fish. The city is plunked in the middle of amazing nature. I’d say that about St Paul too – but Portland beauty is maybe more obvious, if you like that sort of thing.

Final word – Lily is doing well and always fun to spend a week with a kid. (And just a few pictures from the trip…)

 


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment